University of Calgary

Class Notes

Submitted by alumni on Tue, 05/26/2015 - 09:00.

Class Notes

Connect with fellow grads and discover who’s doing what where, including a chat with cookbook author, Rebecca Klemke, BA’06.
by Erin Moulton

Share your news & updates by visiting and clicking “Class Notes.”


Rosalynn Dodd, BCOMM’10, was awarded Canada’s Clean 50 Emerging Leader Award for 2015 for being a leader in sustainability. Among several initiatives at Leela Eco Spa and Studio in Bridgeland, Dodd created a voluntary carbon offsets program. Dodd also serves as a Sustainability Consultant at the City of Calgary.

Elizabeth Anderson, BCC’10, published a book, Being Mentally Healthy (in spite of a mental illness). Her work depicts her personal journey with mental illness and describes the reality of schizophrenia.

Kristen Irene Barton, BSc’11, MSC’12, and Ena Vukatana, MSC’13, are among 11 PhD students at the University of Calgary to receive the Vanier Award, the prestigious research award guaranteeing $50,000 per year for three years. Barton receives the grant for research in Medical Science and Vukatana will be conducting research in Clinical Psychology.

Dr. Joshua Bourdage, BA’06, MSc’08, PhD’12, and Jocelyn Wiltshire, MSc’11, co-wrote a paper with fellow University of Calgary psychologist Kibeom Lee that was published online by the Journal of Applied Psychology. The topic is impression management and identifying workplace dishonesty.

Jessie Singh Chahal, BCOMM’12, is currently a special assistant in the Office of the 
Leader of the Liberal Party of Canada. In this position, he leads Justin Trudeau’s outreach in Western Canada.

Chidinma Thompson, LLM’07 PhD’13, was named one of the 2014 YWE Award winners in December 2014. She is a Senior Associate at BLG and holds the first Doctor of Law from the University of Calgary’s Faculty of Law. The awards were presented by Young Women in Energy, a Calgary-based organization that aims to address the recognized need to increase female presence, development and leadership in the energy industry.

Owen de Lange, BSc’11, BEdP’13, received an Alberta School Boards Association Edwin Parr teaching award. The award honours him for being an outstanding first year teacher at Robert Thirsk High School, where he teaches Mathematics 10 and Business Opportunities.

Linda Crockett, BSW’99, MSW’13, has been honoured with the Women’s Resource Centre Distinguished Alumna award. As a seasoned professional with 25 years of experience in social work, her specialty is addressing the psychological, physical and emotional effects of workplace bullying. The annual WRC Awards recognize women who make outstanding contributions to the community, advance women’s issues and overcome obstacles to achieve their goals.

Lucy Diep, BSc’08, BCR’13, has won the inaugural Alumni Leadership Award from Easter Seals Alberta and Camp Horizon. She started as a counsellor at Camp Horizon in 2007 and has continued working there each year.

Jyoti Gondek, PhD’14, was named the inaugural director of the Westman Centre for Real Estate Studies at the Haskayne School of Business. Gondek will be working towards offering a full undergraduate concentration in real estate and an MBA specialization in the next two years.