University of Calgary

Class Notes

Submitted by alumni on Tue, 05/26/2015 - 09:00.

Class Notes

Connect with fellow grads and discover who’s doing what where, including a chat with cookbook author, Rebecca Klemke, BA’06.
by Erin Moulton

Share your news & updates by visiting and clicking “Class Notes.”


Jeffrey Mowatt, BComm’83, was inducted into the Canadian Speaking Hall of Fame by the Canadian Association of Professional Speakers (CAPS). Only 29 CAPS members have received this honour and Mowatt is the first and only UCalgary grad to do so.

Harvey Locke, BA’80, LLB’84, one of the founders of the Yellowstone to Yukon 
Conservation Initiative, was awarded the Fred M. Packard International Parks Merit Award for his work in November 2014. This award is one of the world’s highest honours for conservation.

Hugh Sommerville, BA’77, LLB’85, Anne Kirker, LLB’91, Robert Armstrong, LLB’98, and Anthony Young, BA’80, JD’83, were successfully elected as part of the Law Society of Alberta’s bencher elections in November 2014.

James Dickson, LLB’86, was named one of Lexpert magazine’s 2014 Zenith Award winners on Oct. 2, 2014. The awards celebrate those lawyers, called between 1986-2000, who during 2013-2014 demonstrated excellence and leadership in an area of practice that sets new standards for the profession.